Tag Archives: Puscifer

Maynard hits 50

April is a popular month for birthdays it appears, and while other sites may be struggling to remember, here at Fourtheye we’d like to say Happy Birthday to Maynard on his 50th year. Maynard will be partying with a couple of Cinquanta shows in May featuring A Perfect Circle, Puscifer and Failure. Word is this won’t be your ordinary show and could feature a few collaborations and guests.

It is customary (when I remember) to post a video capturing some of the finest work of the birthday boy, and this year is no exception. In my opinion, the best recording of Maynard’s vocals is on Salival, in particular the Third Eye cut. For your listening pleasure:

Maynard’s Cinquanta

Those that pay close attention to the members of Tool birthdays you will surely have remembered that next year is Maynard’s 50th birthday. To celebrate he’s bringing together two of his bands, A Perfect Circle and Puscifer as well as one of his favorite other bands Failure. Details of this Cinquanta (Italian for 50) are below:

Puscifer, A Perfect Circle and Failure celebrate Maynard James Keenan’s 50th Birthday on May 10 at The Greek Theatre. Tickets for the special evening, known as Cinquanta, are on-sale this Friday, Dec. 6 at 10 am pacific. VIP packages with preferred seating and commemorative items are on-sale Dec. 5 at 10 am via cinquanta.frontgatetickets.com

Tickets are sure to be limited, so I’d suggest you keep your finger on the trigger for this one!

Tool to play in Mexico in March?

According to the Primus Facebook page, Tool, Primus and Puscifer will be playing the Cumbre Tajin Festival in Papantla, Veracruz, Mexico. This will no doubt be great news for Mexican Tool fans, who have waited a long time for them to play in their country.

Update: Blair has confirmed the date on Toolband

Details are sketchy and by no means confirmed, but here’s the poster:


Maynard talks Puscifer and APC with Artist Direct

There’s a new interview with Maynard online where he discusses the recent A Perfect Circle and coming Puscifer releases on Artist Direct. No huge revelations in the interview, but here’s a snippet anyway:

Did you get closer to the A Perfect Circle music by playing all of the songs live? Many artists don’t ever get that chance.

Well, you know your body changes as you age. To go back and re-look at those songs basically in a different skin definitely gives you perspective. I sing differently than I did when I recorded those songs. So, it was difficult to go back and try to re-shape my throat to make those sounds. It was definitely a learning experience, in terms of where I am with my vocal approaches, subject matter, and everything.

Maynard also hints that “there’s always music being written. You never know. All of that is happening.

Puscifer “What Is…” Trailer released

Puscifer are releasing a tour documentary of sorts on November 26th called What Is…, and they’ve just released a trailer for it:

According to Amazon this will be released on both Vinyl and CD, though it seems odd there’s no mention of a DVD version (which I expect is the main release). The tracklist for the album is:

1. The Green Valley
2. Tiny Monsters
3. Vagina Mine
4. Dozo
5. Toma
6. The Rapture
7. The Weaver
8. Rev 20:20
9. Momma Sed
10. Oceans
11. Monsoons
12. Horizons
13. Conditions of My Parole
14. Man Overboard
15. Telling Ghosts
16. Undertaker
17. Tumbleweed

New Puscifer recordings in the works?

A few clues have been dropped over Instagram in the last week are pointing to some new Puscifer material being prepared for release. One shows Mat Mitchell tracking something (image below) while another is a video which has a track with both Maynard and Carina singing. It doesn’t sound like an existing Puscifer track or remix to me, so I’m thinking that we may be getting a new EP sometime later this year.

Update: Looks like it’s a false alarm – nxrm has informed us the track is actually Sunflower by Low.

Pre-Sunday Grape pressing-tracking w @matmitchell #moredoneinadaythanmostinalifetime #rockneversleeps

Pusicifer to release All Mixed-Up

Maynard has announced that there will be a Puscifer remix album All Re-Mixed Up out in August this year, which will contain tracks from the Conditions of My Parole album worked over by a bunch of his buddies:

All Re-Mixed Up is the continuation of the Puscifer tradition to release alternate versions, reworks, and remixes of what we consider initial thoughts. For instance, Carina Round was nervous about how to approach her version of ‘Telling Ghosts.’ Mat Mitchell put her at ease by asking her to think of it as a song half written, advising her to ‘now write the other half.’ It’s extremely liberating in the digital age to approach composing and creating in this manner. Infinite paths to explore, reinterpret, and re-present.

Here’s the track list:

  1. Monsters (Deconstruct) remixed by Mat Mitchell
  2. The Green Valley (Verde River Maestro 507 mix) remixed by Rani Sharone (Stolen Babies)
  3. Monsoons (JLE Motorik mix) remixed by Josh Eustis
  4. Telling Ghosts (Giorgia O’Queef mix) remixed by Carina Round
  5. Horizons (Dream of a Lie remix) by John Fryer (This Mortal Coil)
  6. Man Overboard (11AD remix) by Alain Johannes
  7. Toma (Burn Out remix) by Five Knives
  8. The Rapture (JLE Needs Service mix) by Josh Eustis
  9. Conditions of My Parole (F.U.B.A.R. remix) by Sir Mix-A-Lot
  10. The Weaver (Virtual Vacuum remix) by Aaron Harris (PALMS)
  11. Oceans (Green Mussel Mix) by Zac Rae
  12. Tumbleweed (Delusions of Grandeur mix) by The Beta Machine

It contains the usual selection of Puscifer buddies, but it’s interesting to see Sir Mix-A-Lot lending his talents to the album. Album will be out August 27 at the usual outlets.